Book Review: – Heaven and Hell: Are They Real?

imagesAnother new book about heaven and hell. Christopher Hudson briefly answers about 63 questions on the topic of heaven and hell. The author mostly is relying on the work of other popular scholars. However the author does not actually seem to engage the reader with the larger debate on the issues of heaven and hell currently happening within the church.

I feel like this book really lacked creativity and original scholarship.

After reading through Rob Bells new book on hell, and the flurry of responses. In particular Francis Chan’s response “Erasing Hell”. I actually really love reading NT Wrights book “Surprised by Hope”. The new theological winds of heaven and hell theology have also got me back into the work of the beloved C.S. Lewis. The most adequate book on hell I think that has come out of these new trend in theology has been that of Steve Gregg compiling clearly the 3 exegetical views on the nature of hell.

Christopher D. Hudson

Heaven and Hell” Are they Real?

Publisher: Thomas Nelson

Buy It: Amazon

I was not expecting something deeply theological. I think this book will work great for people who have some of the questions laid out in this book. The chapters are laid out as questions people ask about heaven and hell. For me this really does not add much to the discussion on hell as he is arranging a handful of scholars and influential people’s work or answers on the subject. There were specific questions that are actually a lot of fun to see how the author arranges scholarly work on the subject. Thought I think a lot of it is object-able points made about questions the bible simply does not have answers for. I do like that the author arranged alternative views and made the answers to the questions out in a discussion form.

Overall I will give it three stars, cause I would recommend reading this to certain people who are new to the topic and want a quick way to approach tough questions.

Categories: Bible, Doctrine, Theology | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Book Review: – Heaven and Hell: Are They Real?

  1. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I
    have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

